Giles SwayneGZ091
String quartet | Duration: 5¾ minutes

A tribute to Swayne’s friend, the celebrated violinist, quartet leader and teacher Christopher Rowland, who died in June 2007. When Swayne visited Rowland three days before his death, to say goodbye, he found him singing (over and over again) the slow movement of Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante K.364. This piece takes a slightly altered version of Mozart’s theme, and weaves a set of intensely emotional variations upon it.

Full set of parts is included.

£16.50 Add to basket

Eight Galactic Marches

John BloodGZ095
Cello and piano | Grades 1-3 technical level | Duration: 18 minutes

All manner of astral bodies are visited in this wide-ranging voyage through space. Each piece is in the form of a march, but the eight marches have very different characters, ranging from the chirpy confidence of A frisky asteroid to the funeral lament of The dying star. This composer being an accomplished cellist, these pieces show an intimate understanding of the problems and possibilities of the instrument at this level.

  • A frisky asteroid
  • The lonely planet
  • The eight moons of Neptune
  • Orion’s Nebula
  • Helios Hyperion – The jolly sun god
  • Cygmus X-26 – The laughing satellites
  • Giant black hole
  • The dying star

£8.25 Add to basket

String quartet no. 4

Giles SwayneGZ100
2 violins, viola, cello | Duration: 30 minutes

Commissioned by Gerry Mattock and Beryl Calver-Jones, Clare College Cambridge, the Fidelio Charitable Trust,  the Garrick Charitable Trust and the Cambridge Music Festival. First performed by the Solstice Quartet on 16th November 2009 at West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge, as part of the Cambridge Music Festival.  A journey through the cycle of the year, this quartet is cast in four movements which correspond to the four seasons.

  • Underground
  • Perpetual motion

£26.50 Add to basket


John BloodGZ102
Cello and piano | Duration: 20 minutes

Composed for cellist Nicolas Robinson, who persuaded the composer to visit Dungeness. The resulting piece, a cello sonata in all but name, portrays the sounds and colours of this amazing landscape. The rich textures abound in nautical reels and shanties, and the piece ends with a Presto agitato movement depicting the whirring turbines of the nuclear power station. The first performance was given by Nicolas Robinson (cello) and  John Blood (piano) on 10th October 2010, as part of Art in Romney Marsh 2010. A highly rewarding concert piece.

  • Dark skies
  • Spring tide
  • Grey afternoon
  • Turbines

£12.50 Add to basket