12 Variations on HARRY

John BloodGZ 148
Piano | Duration: 13½ minutes

These light hearted character pieces are a set of 12 variations all based on the five letters of the name HARRY – with a slight phonetic cheat for the ‘Y’! Through letters and emails, a friendship between Harry Presburg (who lives in Florida) and the composer and his partner has flourished for many years and these pieces are by way of a thank you for all the gentle kindness shown by Harry, a keen pianist.

Web cover GZ 148

  • 1 Fanfare
  • 2 Saturday stroll
  • 3 Valse melancolique
  • 4 The fidgets
  • 5 March
  • 6 Toccata
  • 7 Daydreams
  • 8 Pyotr Illich
  • 9 The stoic
  • 10 Tarentella
  • 11 Habenera
  • 12 N Y Burlesque

£8.25 Add to basket

Vermilion Sonata

John BloodGZ 145
Cello and Piano | Duration: 13 minutes

The three movements of this sonata all grow from the piano’s brief five note opening phrase with which the work begins. The first movement has an energetic forward drive led by an angry sounding cello which is then followed by a presto second movement where the two instruments try to engage in a more balanced dialogue. Unfortunately this conversation eventually disintegrates and the final, slow movement is a sad acknowledgement of this failure to communicate.

A companion piece to the Cobalt Sonata for violin, this sonata was written for Allan Heron, principle cellist of the LGSO.

Cover Cover - GZ 145

£15.25 Add to basket

Cobalt Sonata

John BloodGZ 146
Violin and Piano | Duration: 21 minutes

John Blood’s friendship with Michael Alexander, for whom this sonata was written, dates back to their music making in Secondary School and later, when they were both students, at the Royal Academy of Music. Michael was leader of the second violins in the Ulster Orchestra for many years and is still one of their principle players.

The sonata reflects the personal idiosyncrasies and memories, likes and dislikes, of such a long and rewarding friendship. The first movement is on a large scale, full of shifting moods and with an unsettling sense of urgency. This is followed by a deeply felt slow movement and the sonata finishes with an Armageddon Galop that has, amongst other things, idiotic Christian soldiers vying with Beethoven’s Prometheus as the human race dances gleefully towards its oblivion!

Web cover GZ 146

  • I Animato
  • II In memoriam
  • III Armageddon Galop

£15.25 Add to basket

Swan Lake Acts III & IV

Tchaikovsky arr. John BloodGZ 111
Piano Duet Duration: 1hour 10 minutes

A totally new arrangement, in two volumes, of the complete orchestral ballet score. Tchaikovsky’s amazing melodic and harmonic invention is heard with clarity in this skillful four hand arrangement. Great fun to play and a very welcome addition to the piano duet repertoire. Printed in landscape format with spiral binding.

Web cover - Act III & IV

£25.85 Add to basket