Bagatelles, Book 2

Giles SwayneGZ115
Piano | Duration: 18 minutes

The second book of Swayne’s Bagatelles, composed in July 2011, was first performed by the composer at the Tout-petit festival de Musique, St. Germain de Calberte, in the Cévennes region of France. The publication of Book 1 has been delayed because several of the pieces were not completed until recently; it will appear in autumn 2012.

  • The simple joy in locomotion
  • Stroking your keys
  • Now or never
  • Passing wind
  • It tolls for thee
  • The meaning of life
  • Fibonacci’s song
  • Perpetual motion
  • Nocturne
  • Midnight tango

£12.50 Add to basket

Laulu laululle

Giles SwayneGZ114
16-part choir a cappella | Duration: 7 minutes

First performed in Helsinki on March 19th 2011 by the Helsinki Chamber Choir conducted by Tim Brown, who commissioned it. A recording of this performance can be found on YouTube. The words are taken from Runo 41 of The Kalevala, and are set in Finnish.

£8.50 Add to basket

Three little pieces

Giles SwayneGZ112
Organ | Duration: 5 minutes

Three short and sweet pieces: the first delicate and almost minimalist, the second flashy and full of contrast, and the third a contribution to Bach’s Orgelbüchlein – a version of one of the chorales he listed but never set.

  • A little palindrome
  • Toccatina
  • Chorale prelude no. 136: Auf meinen lieben Gott

£6.50 Add to basket